Mindfulness Month, Day 1: Thirty-One Days of Mini Meditations and Mindfulness Exercises

Portland, Maine

Summer can be the perfect time to practice taking relaxing timeouts.

What will happen if a person takes five minutes every day for one month to practice being present and relaxed?

I plan to find out. Taking at least five minutes of my day to meditate, i.e., to get deliberately mindful, is my goal for this month. And by meditate, I don’t mean anything fancy or difficult.

I’ve read that even five minutes of meditation or mindfulness a day can help us de-stress. I believe it’s the practice of consistency, rather than big chunks here and there, that provide the best effects, largely because that awareness gets threaded into our consciousness in a more pervasive way. With consistency, we simply become more aware of our breath, of our anxiety, of our attempts to multitask and live in the past, present, and future all at the same time and as if we can.

Through years of yoga, a yoga teacher training program, a few focused meditation classes, and a ton of reading, I’ve picked up some tips about how to cultivate relaxation and mindfulness. Unfortunately, there’s what you know and what you do, and I’ve definitely let some of those calming practices go by the wayside, and I’m aware that subsequently I’ve become too reactive. So, I’m targeting July as my month of revisiting de-stressing practices in order to approach life in a more relaxed way. Each day I will share a quick and easy idea for a meditation that can be done in five minutes or less, in case you want to approach July in a similar manner.

Today’s meditation:

Go somewhere where you can be alone and quiet. Close your eyes, and for five minutes or so, watch your breath.

See you again tomorrow!
-Diann

1 Comment

Filed under Health/Wellness, Inspiration, Yoga

One response to “Mindfulness Month, Day 1: Thirty-One Days of Mini Meditations and Mindfulness Exercises

  1. Reblogged this on livingyournewlifewithchronicpain and commented:
    I like this simple mediation exercise, anyone can practice this, anywhere. I will add that you do not have to be alone. You can sit on park bench or in your car in a busy parking lot. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

